PUBLIC HEARING DRAFT

Chapter 7: Intergovernmental Cooperation

March 8, 2024

CHAPTER 7: INTERGOVERNMENTAL COOPERATION

I. Regional Context

Adjacent Towns

The Town of Primrose shares borders with the Dane County Towns of Perry, Springdale and Montrose, and with the Green County Town of New Glarus.

Adjacent Cities and Villages

The Town of Primrose shares no borders with any incorporated city or village. The Town is approximately three and a half miles from the City of Verona to the northeast, three miles from the Village of Mount Horeb to the northwest, and two miles from the Village of Belleville to the east. Town residents often commute to the City of Verona, the Villages of Mount Horeb, Belleville or New Glarus or the Madison Metropolitan Area for shopping, jobs, and entertainment.

Dane County

The Town of Oregon is within County Supervisory District 30. The town relies on a number of Dane County ordinances to regulate land use in the Town. Currently, the Town uses Dane County's zoning ordinance, floodplain zoning ordinance, land division ordinance, subdivision ordinance, erosion control and stormwater management ordinance, and shoreland/wetland zoning ordinance. The Town continues to maintain a good relationship with Dane County departments.

School Districts

The Town is served by the Mount Horeb Area School District in the north, the New Glarus School District in the south, and the Belleville School District in the east-central portion of the town.

Capital Area Regional Planning Commission

The Capital Area Regional Planning Commission (CARPC) was created on May 2, 2007 to serve as the regional planning and areawide water quality management planning entity for the Dane County region. Its responsibilities include approval of urban service areas and delineation of environmental and open space corridors. The Commission is composed of thirteen Commissioners appointed by the Mayor of the City of Madison (4), the Dane County Executive (3), the Dane County Cities and Villages Association (3), and the Dane County Towns Association (3).

Chapter 7: Intergovernmental Cooperation

March 8, 2024

Relevant State Agencies

The Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources (DNR) owns a substantial amount of land in the town (see Public Lands District in Chapter 8: Land Use), and has regulatory authority over stream crossings and other work in navigable streams. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WISDOT) manages US Highway 14, which runs through the northern portion of the town. The town also participates in the Department of Agriculture Trade & Consumer Protection (DATCP)'s Farmland Preservation Program.

Relevant Federal Agencies

The National Park Service and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service own lands in the eastern portion of the town. Many farmers and other landowners in the town participate in conservation programs funded and operated by the Natural Resource Conservation Service of the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

II. Existing or Potential Conflicts:

Other Cities and Villages

Adopted comprehensive plans for the Town of New Glarus, in Green County, and the Town of Springdale, in Dane County, would both allow for higher densities of nonfarm development than does the Town of Primrose Comprehensive Plan. The Town of Primrose Board and Planning Commission should cooperate with their counterparts in neighboring towns to make sure proposed residential developments across town lines do not negatively impact ongoing farm or conservation activities in Primrose.

The adopted comprehensive plans for the City of Verona and the Villages of Mount Horeb, Belleville and New Glarus do not show any projected expansion into the Town of Primrose within the next 20 years (Map 7-1). Consequently, no potential conflicts are anticipated with these municipalities.

March 8, 2024

III. Intergovernmental Cooperation Goals, Objectives and Policies:

Goals:

- 1. Facilitate and encourage cooperation and communication between all levels of government.
- 2. Establish a process for mutually beneficial intergovernmental relations with other governmental jurisdictions to promote cooperation and communication.

Objectives:

- 1. Maintain good working relationships with adjoining municipalities and other governmental jurisdictions.
- 2. Explore opportunities for joint planning and cooperation with other towns, villages, cities, Dane County, and state and federal agencies, including intergovernmental land use, service, and boundary agreements.
- 3. Actively seek opportunities for shared public service agreements that improve services and lower costs.

Policies and Programs:

- 1. Continue to actively participate in intergovernmental organizations such as the Dane County Towns Association and events sponsored by the Capital Area Regional Planning Commission, and explore other opportunities to meet with representative from other governments.
- 2. Continue to actively participate in formal public hearings, workshops, committees and other outreach opportunities sponsored by other governmental units, including Dane County, the Capital Area Regional Planning Commission, nearby cities and villages, surrounding towns and state and federal agencies.
- 3. Provide formal comments and recommendations on proposed municipal, county or state plans, regulations or infrastructure improvements that have the potential to affect the Town of Primrose.
- 4. Work with the Dane County Board of Supervisors to have the Town of Primrose Comprehensive Plan formally adopted as part of the Dane County Comprehensive Plan.